Happy Birthday Sherina!

As I’m sure some of you will notice, I’m not Sherina. My name is Caliesha and I’m her younger sister. Ceanray and I have decided that we wanted to write a special post this week to celebrate Sherina’s birthday. Hope its a good one, Sis!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Dear Ceanray,

When I think of Sherina, I think of a beautiful young woman who is an excellent writer and a fabulous big sister. She is determined in everything she does, and is usually quite successful. One of these things was starting a blog. I remember when she first started her personal blog, as well as this one. I am so proud of how far the blog has come and how passionate she still is about it. Her first newspaper article was in sixth grade and I’ve known since that day that she was born to be writing.

I also appreciate how easy going Sherina is. From time to time, we have been known to engage in literary arguments (because who doesn’t?). None of these arguments last, since she is always willing to accept that I’m right (just kidding) and move on. But seriously, she is always willing to overlook any spats we might have had and just accept that people have different opinions. Chances are we’ll be back in talking about Harry Potter conspiracies minutes later.

Sometimes I think my sister must be psychic. No matter the situation, she always seems to understand the point I’m trying to make. In other words, she gets me. Not that I’m a difficult person to understand per se, but it only takes a few words and some meaningful glances for Sherina to know everything I’m thinking. She’s also an incredible listener. As someone who likes to ramble on about books and bands a lot, I’m surprised she can stand me. Or maybe shes just good at hiding it. Either way, thanks for listening Sher!

If you’re reading this, I want to wish you a happy birthday and thank you for everything.

Lots of Love,

Caliesha

Dear Caliesha,

First of all, let me say that you and Sherina are the cutest sisters – ever. It’s as if the two of you are on the same wavelength.

Many things come to mind when I think of Sherina, her intelligence, sense of humour and fierce determination chiefly among them. I also feel a kinship to her because she’s just as as accident-prone as I am.

Remember last summer when she couldn’t hear properly for two weeks? We had done so many pool handstands that her ears became almost completely blocked. Over those two weeks, talking to Sherina usually consisted of her politely nodding as you spoke because she had no idea what you were saying. Alternatively, you would be greeted with “WHAAAT?” or “I’m sorry, I CAN’T HEAR YOU!” Patience is a virtue, one that she most certainly has been blessed with.

She must be tired of hearing this by now, but she is probably one of the smartest people I know. I also agree with her on just about every social and political issue under the sun. She is already a devoted sister, daughter, cousin and feminist.There isn’t a doubt in my mind that she’ll become a wildly successful journalist.

I don’t know what I’d do without her. She understands me better than most people and I’m eternally grateful for that, and her. Both of you are more like sisters to me than cousins, and we’re pretty lucky that we have someone like Sher looking out for us.

Ceanray

P.S. I would just like to add that this post was Caliesha’s idea and that she is a pretty amazing person as well. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Sherina!

Leave a Reply

